Skip to main content

Updated December 1, 2021

Canada, the United States and a number of destinations to which we fly have introduced new measures to help stop the spread of the Omicron variant. If you have travelled to impacted countries in the last 14 days, ensure you review the requirements for your destination.

Entering Canada

The Canadian Government introduced an entry restriction to travellers who have been in or transited through these countries in the last 14 days:

  • Botswana
  • Egypt
  • Eswatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • South Africa
  • Zimbabwe

Non-Canadian Nationals

Regardless of vaccination or COVID test status, non-Canadian guests checking in with WestJet, or connecting from an airline partner, who have visited one or more of the listed locations in the past 14 days are prohibited from entering Canada.

If you are unable to travel with us due to this, you may rebook for 14 days after the original flight, or cancel your flight. 

Canadian Nationals

Canadian nationals are permitted to travel to Canada if they have been to or transited through the listed countries, however, they must have a pre-departure COVID-19 test taken within 72 hours that has been completed outside of the listed countries. Additionally, upon arrival they must:

  • Take a COVID-19 test
  • Take a follow up test on day 8 after arrival
  • Self-isolate at home for 14 days

If the guest tests positive for COVID-19 upon arrival, they must quarantine at a government mandated location.

Pre-departure COVID-19 tests

COVID-19 tests performed in any of the listed countries are no longer accepted for travel to Canada. Guests must obtain new COVID-19 tests before being permitted to board their flight to Canada.

Learn more at: